Loving Math

As a teacher I spent most of career working in the lower grades.  But two years (my second and third year of teaching), I spent teaching fifth grade.  Both years I taught a math class for kids who were behind.  My first year I was shocked when some students couldn’t do things like adding single digit numbers.  And EVERY student in that class hated math.  They were convinced they could not do math.

We had two rules in that class. Everyone would understand and no one was allowed to say I can’t. I would re-explain and re-teach until everyone understood.  And they did.

A question parents often ask me is what can I do at home that is fun and will support math in the elementary school years.  One online program that is great for children is called Splash Math.  This program is interactive, aligned with school curriculum, and loved by teachers and school districts. It helps identify and re-teach areas that your child may struggle in and helps bring them up to grade level and even excel.

If your child is struggling with math, I would encourage you to read about Splash Math today!

Leave a Reply

