Won’t You Be Mine?

With today being Valentine’s Day, I thought it would be fun to go back and remember how I met my Valentine!

Once upon a time (in 2010) I was single with no real prospects for love.  I had guy friends and my married friends would suggest this one or that regularly.  None of them seemed to be fore me.

During this time one of my friends thought it would be a good idea for me to sign up for online dating to widen the prospective pool.  I was scared about online dating.  How could you really know that that person you were talking to online was the real deal?  But I began trolling sites.  I had decided if I saw someone that looked interesting who lived near me I would sign up.  I had a list of things I wanted.  And I continued trolling.

Then on a fateful day in May of 2010, I saw a profile that seemed perfect.  I was intrigued.  So I signed up and said something witty on his wall.  He eventually responded.  I wrote back.  Over the course of the three weeks we sent messages back and forth to the point that we have 50 pages of emails.  It is a nice souvenir of how we fell in love.

I was nervous to tell anyone I had met a person online.  It seemed desperate.  It seemed weird.  It wasn’t the way I imagined my love to work.

But I also wanted someone to know.  I felt it would be wise from a safety perspective that someone knew I was communicating with someone.  So I told my dear friend and roommate ( who was getting married in a month and was desperate to find my my own man).  She was thrilled!

Eventually we decided to meet.  We met at a local sports pub to watch a soccer game.  My roommate and her fiancee came with me to make sure everything was on the up and up.  He LOVES soccer.  Me – well I love basketball and football so I was open to try another sport (not my favorite though!).

Afterwards we went on a walk through downtown Indianapolis, he took me on a tour of his workplace (lots of deserted halls and locked doors made me nervous since I didn’t really know this guy but thankfully he was a good one!).  Pretty soon we had spent 8 hours together and I was sure I thought I might have met the man of my dreams!

Leave a Reply

