Health(ier) Chocolate

One thing Mutu really encourages is cutting out processed food (hmmm anyone think that is a bad thing for your health?).  But while I don’t think it is an unhealthy, I also don’t find it easy.  And then there are some things that I just love to eat that are highly processed but really I am postpartum and some things I just can’t live without!  One of those is Peanut butter and chocolate in whatever form.  So I began a search for a healthier peanut butter and chocolate.  I have played around with several different recipes and several different methods of putting it together and this is what I have come up with.  It includes coconut oil (an oil that many dietitians are saying helps with weight loss) as well as maple syrup.

The first thing we are going to do is mix up some chocolate.

image

1 Cup Cocoa Powder (I love a good dutch processed cocoa)
1 Cup Coconut Oil
1/2 Cup maple syrup (I often use a little less than half a cup sometimes as little as 1/4.  Play around to see how dark you like it)

Mix those 3 ingredients together.

Cover a baking sheet with a lip with foil (it comes off foil better than wax and parchment paper in my experience)

Spread half the chocolate mixture thinly across the baking sheet.  It will not cover the entire pan.  Just spread it thin.

image

Immediately put the chocolate mixture in the freezer.  Many recipes say to do this and I thought it was a stupid instruction but what I have discovered is the maple syrup tends to separate out if it isn’t frozen.  So the freezing seems to be important.

While the chocolate is freezing we will mix up our peanut butter

image

1/2 Cup peanut butter
3 T maple syrup
1 T Coconut Oil
a pinch of salt (to taste.  Many store bought peanut butter treats are pretty salty!)

Melt the Peanut butter and coconut oil together.  Add the maple syrup and salt.

image

Spread this mixture on top of the frozen chocolate and put the cookie sheet back in the freezer for 10 minutes.

Stir remaining chocolate well.  Remove cookie sheet from freezer and put the chocolate on top of the peanut butter.

image

Put back in the freezer until frozen solid (about an hour).

image

Remove from freezer.  I usually use my hands to break it into bite size pieces.  Store Chocolate in the fridge.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bark

  • Servings: ? How much do you want? 🙂
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Chocolate top and bottom

1 Cup Cocoa Powder
1 Cup Coconut Oil
3/4 Cup maple syrup (I often use a little less than half a cup sometimes as little as 1/4.  Play around to see how dark you like it)

Mix together (1/2 for the top and 1/2 for the bottom)

Peanut Butter Middle

1/2 Cup peanut butter
3 T maple syrup
1 T Coconut Oil
a pinch of salt (to taste.  Many store bought peanut butter treats are pretty salty!)

Mix these 4 ingredients together

Spread one half of chocolate mixture on a cookie man covered in foil.  Put pan in freezer for 10 minutes.

Remove from freezer.  Spread peanut butter mixture on top of frozen chocolate.  Return to freezer for 10 minutes.

Remove from freezer.  Spread remaining chocolate on top.  Return to freezer until frozen solid – about 30 minutes.

Break chocolate into bite size pieces.  Store in airtight container in the fridge.

image

Remember this is a treat!

6 thoughts on “Health(ier) Chocolate

  1. Pingback: Stop Letting Your Fitness Tracker Make You Fat | This Mutu Life

  2. Can’t wait to try!!! Ty so much for sharing! Chocolate and Peanut butter i eat on a daily basis, fudge mainly, reeses peanut butter cups, chocolate peanut butter fudge truffle o.0 i know this is all bad for me especially daily, good thing my job consists of a lot of moving lol So Ty now i can try something different that looks like its a lot better for me than straight fudge everyday lol , i don’t know why I’m so obsessed with fudge everyday, i pick it up at my local food store(shaws) right next to my apartment.

    Like

    • I am with you! This has been a life saver for me! Great chocolate peanut butter with a lot less sugar and none of those other silly additives found in so many store bought treats. Let me know how you like them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

