How to Workout With Children

With two children under currently 2 and under (the oldest wasn’t quite 20 months when the second was born) finding time to workout is difficult.

My oldest loves to join me in working out – which is great and super cute until he walks right into my weight as I am in the middle of a movement.  At that point the workout is at the very least on pause.  (Tell me I am not the only one who has had that experience.  Makes me feel like such a bad mommy.)

So then I tried working out at night after I put them in bed.

HA!  What a laugh!  That is the last thing I want to do then.  By the time they are in bed, I want to curl up and do NOTHING.  Watch a TV show.  Read a book.  Exercise?  NOPE!

So exercise just didn’t happen.

Nap time was out or I wasn’t quite sure how I would get dinner ready.

So I went with the last option.  Before the 2 year old got up.  I nursed my baby at about 6:30 and then I started working out.  That has been the best time for me.  Get up.  Feed baby.  Workout.  The baby (now 10 months) finds me working out to be funny (maybe I look really funny, I don’t know) but she is entertained and happy, the two year old isn’t around, and I get my workout in.

That is what worked out for me.  Will it work for you?  I don’t know.  Maybe night time will work better for you.  Maybe nap time will.  The key is finding a time that works for you.  It isn’t easy, but whatever you do as Nike always says, JUST DO IT!

Leave a Reply

