That Core

On of the first things I learned about when starting Mutu was something called Diastasis Recti.  This condition is so well known that the spell check on word press is telling me it is misspelled and I had to go look it up to make sure :).  Anyway this pretty much means that the muscles running down the front of your stomach separated and there is now a gap.  How big your gap is depends on a lot of things but seems to be influenced a lot by genetics.  Some women naturally close this gap.  Many do not.

What I found was I was unable to do similar exercises that I had done before pregnancy comfortably.  Things just felt off like I had no support.  There are a lot of theories on how to deal with this.  Some people encourage belly binding but in my mind I wanted my body to be able to fix it.

For this reason Mutu was a good choice for me.  Wendy Powell, the creator, believes that simple exercises can help strengthen your body and realign your body so it works naturally and optimally.

The first week of Mutu I felt a little (a lot stupid) following her program.  Seriously there is nothing strenuous about it and I wondered how this would work.  Then about 3 weeks in I got a cold.  Not a bad one but I was coughing and sneezing and I noticed I didn’t have to change my panties.  The first thing that Wendy said could be fixed was fixed through these simple exercises it seemed.  And 8 months later I am here to say it really did work. Somehow these simple exercise (no kegals, no crunches, no planks) was fixing my core.  I was hooked and began telling others about it!

One thought on “That Core

  1. Pingback: Say NO to Belly Binding! | This Mutu Life

Leave a Reply

